Continuing Professional Development (CPD) is the NZAC frame of reference for your Professional Development.

Areas of each competency  includes Awareness, Knowledge, Skills and Application

1. Conceptual foundation e.g. theories of human development, cultural concepts, personality, mental un-wellness, psychological distress, process of change, therapeutic models

2. Puawananga Kaitiakitanga; Formerly called cultural supervision 

3. Self-awareness and self-examination

4. Relationship building and maintaining a therapeutic alliance

5. Assessment and report writing. Assessment, risk assessment, report writing, referral process and professional written communication 

6. Collaborative goal setting/negotiating contracts and evaluation of client processes and outcomes

7. Facilitation of change : Interventions and change process

8. Ethical principles and practice 

9. Areas of specialist knowledge, experience and practice which may include diverse cultures

10. Other forms of Professional Practice e.g. supervision, group facilitation, education, training, teaching, management, research, service development, course design.

For further information on what areas of competence could include and guidelines for completion see CPD Information and Guidelines below:

CPD Information and Guidelines 2021

Last edited Apr 13, 2022, 10:39 AM
177 KB

Example of completed forms 1

Last edited Feb 4, 2020, 3:52 PM
121 KB

Example of completed forms 2

Last edited Apr 6, 2020, 2:28 PM
160 KB

Example of completed forms 3

Last edited Apr 6, 2020, 2:29 PM
95 KB


Last edited Oct 2, 2020, 2:26 PM
189 KB
Last edited Oct 2, 2020, 2:26 PM
208 KB

Information for Completing Online CPD Record and Plan

Last edited Oct 3, 2021, 12:16 PM
218 KB

CPD Audit flowchart